Tuesday, June 1, 2010

to be number 1

im driving down the freeway today and I look over and watch as this red car tries to get off the freeway. he has to get across 3 lanes and to start he has to slow down to split 2 gray cars to get into an open lane only to have to try and speed up to beat a really slow green car. however, the funny part was when the green car wasn't about to let this red car "win." the green car sped up just to barely get in front of the red car so the red car had to yield to get off the freeway..

it just got me thinking about winning and the differences in personalities in winning.. its amazing what people will do to get ahead in life! they will cut each other off and force you to miss an exit, they will sabotage an idea because it doesn't benefit them, or they will just do what is best for themselves... self preservation.. selfish action.. its sad

Monday, May 31, 2010

referees.. gotta love them

sometimes in the game of football, the best referees are the ones that you never notice... they keep control of the game by being respectful to the players and the game itself.. they don't need to make themselves the center piece...

today, 2 referees were a disgrace to the game...
1) one of the two never left the center circle. i dont know how he is allowed to ref U17 boys soccer when he isnt fit enough to run outside the circle or power walk 10 yards outside...

2) the other was a referee who thinks he is God's gift to soccer as a coach and a ref... since he thinks that, he likes to take control of the game and control it. he dished out 2 straight red cards after a couple of challenges that were most likely yellows..

I can keep goin on how i hate when refs get involved in games especially when they might have something personal going on with a player or coach. It ruins that particular game and disrespects the game itself. it is hard to tell your kids that they need to look past the refs and just play the game when a ref takes the game to them and either doesn't let them play or doesn't protect them...

moral of the story: jesus loves refs as well
Very soon... 2 weeks in fact, I get to go back to South Afrika for the first time in 2 years. I get to go back with my sister: Cammi, and my best friend: Dan. I cannot wait to get back for several reasons: 1- to see friends i haven't seen in a while. 2- to feel wild and free again... TIA Rule applies.. This Is Afrika. You never know what will happen. and 3- I am excited for dan and cammi to get out of their little bubble of a life they have here and experience something that is totally out of their comfort zone and something that will stretch them beyond what is customary.. 4- finally another international vaca... i will definitely be posting thoughts and stories and... oh ya i forgot to mention that the world cup is there.. so i will be writing about that.. goodnight

bucks and pits

First blog post in a while... gotta get back in the groove... please excuse the mistakes

i coach both girls and guys soccer. the differences between the two are crazy. for example, guys are like bucks and girls are like pit bulls. with the bucks, when you get out there and they see you, they are secretly insecure and want you to prove that they have bigger horns than you do. they are strong, confident, unsure and untrusting at first.. they want that clash.. they need that clash and if you are weak, they will exploit it and you will never get their respect. you have to kick their ass. if you don't, you lose... with those bucks, you have to beat them to death, well almost, and prove that you are bigger and stronger and faster. however, once you do, you have their respect and you can coexist. in fact, it is almost better to go out of your way to find the biggest and strongest of the group and beat him down in front of the others because like i said before, they are secretly insecure and the rest do not want to get their ass kicked in front of everyone else.. the fun thing about this is, secretly the bucks want to learn how to be the leader at the top of the mountain even though they know they are not there yet. they need to find out if they have what it takes.. off the mountain, they want to get away from the herd and prove who they are and what they have to offer.. it is getting them to work together in the herd that they achieve more than the individual buck...

however pit bulls. pit bulls are the sweetest dogs you will ever have. they are loyal, fun, nice, sporty, competitive but unsure if they should be.. they are strong and have the ability to coexist with others.. however, once you piss that dog off, there is no going back and all they can see is red.. they will look out for one thing.. self.. once hurt, they become a shell of what they once were.. it is only when you love it for who it really is and accept it into your family without hesitation, will it come back. if they know that you accept and love them for who they are rather than for what they do (chess piece) do they really come to play... opposite from the buck, they have to be pushed to go outside and show what they have more to offer.. they are insecure and often dont believe that they can.. they prefer to be inside the comfortable confines of what they know..